Reading Time: < 1 minute

The UN Development Programme has blacklisted 18 Somali individuals and organisations from conducting any business with the UN agency over what it termed as their ‘engagement in proscribed practices’.

The sanctions list released by the UNDP Chief Procurement Officer indicates the named individuals and entities had engaged in corruption, collusion and fraud.

Entry into the sanctions list means the affected organisations or individuals become ineligible to future contracts and can be excluded from contracting with UN agencies. This may also affect entities or individuals who directly or indirectly control any prohibited vendors, the UNDP said.

The UNDP anti-fraud policy covers any project funded by UNDP, any project implemented by UNDP, and any implementing partner. It  covers fraud or allegations of frauds involving UNDP staff members and its personnel, including but not limited to consultants, service contract holders (SCs), individual contractors (ICs) , interns, and United Nations Volunteers (UNVs) as well as frauds perpetrated against UNDP by contractors, suppliers of goods and services, implementing partners, or other third parties.

Read the list below:

  1. . Halima Daud Khalif
  2. Centre for Research & Policy Analysis (CERPA)
  3. We Are Women Activists (WAWA)
  4. Hawa Ali Jama
  5. Zainab Mwazige
  6. Zeinab Ayan Ahmed
  7. Somali Association for Rehabilitation and Development (SARD)
  8. Tanaad Relief & Development Organization (TARDO)
  9. Mohamud Issak
  10. Ali Mohamed Mohamud
  11. Shabelle Relief and Development Organization (SHARDO)
  12. Mohamed Shukri Moallim
  13. Hiran HIV/AIDS Prevention and Child Protection Organization (HAPO)
  14. Abdirizak Yusuf Mohamed
  15. Emergency Pastoralists Assistance Group – Kenya (EPAG-K) (Kenya/Somalia)
  16. Abdullahi Gessey- Kenya/Somalia
  17. Youth & HIV/AIDS Network (YAHAN)
  18. ​Mr. Mohamed Abdirahaman Jama, aka Mr. Muhammed Abdurahman Jama